Why You Should Learn to “Let Go”

You’re only hurting yourself.

Sagrika Oberoi
4 min readSep 14, 2022
Image by Freepik

There was a time in my life when I was broken, helpless, and tired.

Simply because I had not been introduced to the term “letting go”. I would hold on to relationships, jobs, and things that were simply not meant to be in my life. I would think it’s my duty to face them and be somebody that I wasn’t meant to be. As if I was imprisoned in my own thoughts.

Well! Life is not easy for anyone. But, for the most part, It’s we who make things too complicated and hard for us.

It started as soon as I was born. The first thing I knew was my mom who wanted me to be a doctor. That’s the only profession I know existed. Everything else was secondary to my mum except for a career. I am glad she made education a priority. I’ll always be thankful to her. she pushed us to study harder. but I was told I’ll only be respected in society If I became a doctor. Like really?

I don't know about other countries but here in India even if you’re interested and capable of becoming a doctor. You have to qualify for a competitive test. Unfortunately, I couldn't qualify after trying hard. This thing was taking a toll on my mental health.

Every night I sat near a window in my room looking outside in dim light. with a pile of books around me. Mere the idea of letting go of this would haunt me. Because this is the only profession that would give me and my family a reputation, fame money, etc. and here I am sitting in my room thinking what if I didn’t qualify one more time? The feeling was getting intense each time. My peers were ahead of me. They would talk about their college life, relationships, their hobbies.

“What is destined will reach you, even if it be underneath two mountains. What is not destined, will not reach you, even if it be between your two lips. — Proverb Anything”

And here I was feeling helpless, I would say to myself this is the only thing my parents ever asked me and I’m unable to fulfill their dream. I must be a bad daughter. I had no right to live. crying night after night helpless and aimless what is going to be my future? I would ask myself.

I was holding on to something that was taking my peace and happiness away from me. I had this idea that It was about me, I have to work harder and harder. But now when I look back I realize life would have been much simpler if I knew when and how to let go.

I wish there was somebody to tell me that being a doctor is not the only profession. You can be whatever you want to be. I am not a doctor and I’m glad I let go of the thought of becoming one. whoever is reading this my only suggestion to you is to identify what is holding you back. and then slowly let go. It will be hard but the freedom you’ll have is unparalleled.

Final Thoughts

Anything that costs you inner peace and happiness is just too costly. It’s not only about the profession. It’s about every other thing in life. know when to let go and move on.

Letting go is not easy but It’s essential when moving from one chapter of life to another. you can’t start a new one without having let go of the past. As I grew up It made more sense. I saw things more clearly. each time I would mentally make a vow of just letting go, the whole experience was so liberating and whole. As, if a burden is lifted off me. Don’t worry about the noise. people will always have something or the other to say. Don’t jeopardize your happiness and mental peace for anything.

“If you’re brave enough to say goodbye, life will reward you with a new hello.
— Paulo Coelho”

Thanks for Reading

If you liked my work buy me a coffee 😊 and Connect with me on Twitter, Linkedin

--

--

Sagrika Oberoi

Researcher and writer, passionate about improving my life, Talks about personal growth, health, lifestyle and spirituality.🌸 connect- bysagrikaoberoi@gmail.com