The Power of Unlearning

Sagrika Oberoi
1 min readDec 5, 2022

--

Image by Thedailystar

As humans, we always seek to enhance the quality of our life through experiences or learning something new.

However, to improve ourselves learning to unlearn certain things is as crucial as learning a new piece of information.

Almost 2 years back my relationship with money was a bit different. I earned more so I could spend more. I never believed in saving. But, covid just changed my worldview and beliefs about money.

I read half a dozen books and watched tonnes of videos to gain new insights on saving and investing.

You have to identify what mental model is no longer relevant or has become obsolete, find the knowledge gap, and then proceeded to learn the new information.

“The illiterate of the 21st century will not be those who can’t read or write, but those who can not learn, unlearn and relearn.” — Alvin Toffler

The process of unlearning is much like a software update you have to overwrite or discard something from your mind in order to stay relevant and future-ready.

Thanks for reading!

Hey, let’s connect on Twitter and LinkedIn.

--

--

Sagrika Oberoi

Researcher and writer, passionate about improving my life, Talks about personal growth, health, lifestyle and spirituality.🌸 connect- bysagrikaoberoi@gmail.com